FINAT President Earns Lifetime Achievement Award

THE HAGUE, THE NETHERLANDS | Kurt Walker, president of FINAT, has been chosen as the recipient of the R. Stanton Avery Lifetime Achievement Award at the 2015 Label Industry Global Awards.

Sponsored by Avery Dennison, the R. Stanton Avery Lifetime Achievement Award, is bestowed upon an individual who has made a substantial and key contribution to the label industry over a minimum of 25 years. After graduating from university, Walker entered the printing industry where he has held various positions in sales and marketing. In 1988 he joined the label industry and acted, until his retirement in 2012, as CEO of tesa Bandfix in Switzerland. Walker became a member of the FINAT board in 1999 and has also served as VP, membership committee member, and treasurer before being appointed president of the worldwide association for the self-adhesive labeling industry in 2011

Reportedly known for being innovative and forward thinking, Walker has been influential in unifying the wider global label industry. A significant supporter of the L7, now L9, Walker has been instrumental in helping grow the alliance’s profile and importance, while also helping secure and ensure the ongoing success of FINAT’s Young Managers Club.

Mike Fairley, chair of the judges, says, “Kurt Walker was the unanimous choice of the judging panel. His impressive long-term industry pedigree…made him the stand-out choice for this year’s Lifetime Achievement Award. We look forward to honoring Kurt and the other winners in person at the awards ceremony in September.”

The winners will be announced at the Label Industry Global Awards ceremony and dinner on 29 September, where Walker will also officially be presented with the award. The ceremony is held as part of Labelexpo Europe 2015, September 29–October 2 in Brussels, Belgium.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Subscribe to PFFC's EClips Newsletter